TRIO SSS

TRIO Student Support Services has been serving enrolled students across the college campuses of Minnesota North College since 1987. Funded by the U.S. Department of Education to provide a variety of personal and academic support services to address the needs of program-eligible students, the goals of TRIO SSS are to increase the college retention and graduation rates of its participants, help students make the transition from one level of higher education to the next, and motivate students toward the successful completion of their postsecondary education to achieve their career and life goals.

Services include:

  • Academic advising & career mentoring
  • Academic tutoring & support
  • Financial literacy/advocacy & FAFSA help
  • Four-year transfer planning & assistance
  • Personal counseling & guidance
  • Personal strengths development
  • Scholarship & resume assistance

Student Support Services Courses

SSSC courses are tuition-free for SSS participants (with tuition-waived at start of semester), although enrolled students are financially responsible for associated fees charged to credit courses. See full details in the semester course schedule or talk with a TRIO advisor.

  • Transition to College
    • 2 credits – Fall semester
  • Choosing a Major & Career
    • 1 credit – Fall second half-semester & Spring first half-semester
  • Introduction to Personal Finance
    • 1 credit – Spring and Summer semesters

Student Eligibility

You May be Eligible if:

  • You are a U.S. citizen, national or meet the residency requirements for federal student financial assistance, and
  • You have academic need for supportive services, and
  • Neither of your parents graduated from a four-year college with a bachelor’s degree, or
  • You have financial need to attend college, or
  • You have a documented disability

SSS Application

Become a member by applying to your home campus.

Meet the Minnesota North TRIO Student Support Services team:

Jennifer Boben
TRIO SSS Campus Director & Accessibility Services
jennifer.boben@minnesotanorth.edu
218.403.9219
Book an Appointment

Christina Brown
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor
christina.brown@minnesotanorth.edu
218.403.9217
Book an Appointment

Michelle Chamernick
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor
michelle.chamernick@minnesotanorth.edu
218.403.9218
Book an Appointment

Melissa Wilson 
TRIO SSS Counselor
melissa.wilson@minnesotanorth.edu
218.403.9209

Torie Kutz
TRIO SSS Academic Support Specialist & Master Tutor
torie.kutz@minnesotanorth.edu
218.293.6911

Ann Vidovic
TRIO SSS Campus Director & Accessibility Services
ann.vidovic@minnesotanorth.edu
218.322.2433
Book an Appointment

Amie Furlong
TRIO SSS Counselor
amie.furlong@minnesotanorth.edu
218.322.2361
Book an Appointment

Jackie Gallop
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor
jackie.gallop@minnesotanorth.edu
218.322.2430
Book an Appointment

Elizabeth Gillman
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor
elizabeth.gillman@minnesotanorth.edu
218.322.2390
Book an Appointment

Jennifer Willard
TRIO SSS Campus Director & Academic Advisor
jennifer.willard@minnesotanorth.edu
218.550.2548
Book an Appointment

Kelly Dailey
TRIO SSS Counselor
kelly.dailey@minnesotanorth.edu
218.550.2506

Holly DuChene
TRIO SSS Academic Support Specialist & Student Success Coordinator
holly.duchene@minnesotanorth.edu
218.550.2509

Matt Jarva
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist & Technical Program Academic Advisor-Eveleth
matt.jarva@minnesotanorth.edu
218.550.2608

Davis Lamppa
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist & IRE Academic Advisor
davis.lamppa@minnesotanorth.edu
218.550.2523
Book an Appointment

Amy Amundsen
TRIO SSS Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor & Accessibility Services
amy.amundsen@minnesotanorth.edu
218.598.9326
Book an Appointment

Shelly Koenig
TRIO SSS Academic Retention Specialist, Academic Advisor & Foundation Executive Director
shelly.koenig@minnesotanorth.edu
218.598.9342
Book an Appointment

Annette Horvat
Supervisor for Academic Resources & TRIO Student Support Services
annette.horvat@minnesotanorth.edu
218.235.2176
Book an Appointment

Shannan Harding
TRIO SSS Project Retention Assistant
shannan.harding@minnesotanorth.edu
218.235.2175
Book an Appointment

Marcia Chambers
TRIO Retention Specialist & Academic Advisor
marcia.chambers@minnesotanorth.edu
218.235.2174
Book an Appointment

Dick Larson
TRIO SSS Academic Retention Specialist & Mathematics Tutor
richard.larson@minnesotanorth.edu
218.235.2106
Book an Appointment

For questions, assistance, or to request the TRIO application in an alternate format, please contact the TRIO Student Support Services office at triosss@minnesotanorth.edu or any TRIO SSS staff member.